ITALY, TUSCANY, LUCCA, COREGLIA ANTELMINELLI
Important palazzo situated in the historic centre of a village in the Coreglia Antelminelli area of the Lucca province, in a panoramic and sunny location.
The palazzo (which is attached to another property to one side) dates back to the second half of the 13th century and belonged to an important Lucchese family.
The building measures about 460 sqm and is on 4 floors consisting of;
Ground floor: large living room with fireplace, dining room, kitchen with wood-burning oven, bathroom.
First floor: large salon with fireplace, 2 bedrooms, one of which has an ensuite bathroom and a balcony, bathroom and small apartment with separate entrance which consists of living room with fireplace, bedroom, bathroom.
Second floor: 2 large attic rooms where a further 2 bedrooms and a bathroom could be created.
Basement: 2 large unrestored cellars.
Private garden measuring 1,400 sqm.
The palazzo was restored in 2004 using high quality materials and maintaining the period features of the building, which include panelled ceilings, cotto and wood floors, stone elements.
A recent addition is a relaxing sauna, spa with hot mineralised water, and a chromo-therapy emotion shower which uses perfume, water and colour for a unique relaxation experience.
The village has shops and restaurants.
The palazzo was first documented in 1274 in the archives of the Castracani-Antelminelli family (to which the well-known Castruccio, Duke of Lucca – info – belonged) with an entry regarding a small fortified palazzo near the entrance gate to Ghivizzano.
In 1429 Paolo Guinigi, of the well-known Lucchese family of merchants, and Duke of Lucca (1400 – 1430) hid in the palazzo (which at the time belonged to his first wife, Caterina degli Antelminelli) to escape the stirrings of revolt against his Dukedom.
After the fall of the Guinigis, the palazzo passed to the Nuti family who during the 16th century completely changed the look of the palazzo fortress. The old medieval walls of the small village became part of the southern facade of the building, creating a walkway under the palazzo.
The small mullioned windows became large windows, giving the structure the appearance of a city palazzo.
In 1648, thanks to a marriage between the Nuti family and the Buonvisi family, the palazzo was passed on the Buonvisis, who doubled its size.
From this period onwards, it will always be remembered as the palazzo of one hundred windows.
In the early 1900s, it became a convent/girl’s school, set up by Monsignor Camilli, who was born in the village and later became Bishop of Fiesole.
In 2004, after many years of neglect, it was sold and restored in minute detail.
Bagni di Lucca 8km
Pisa (nearest airport) 46km
EPC: Class G. 300.10 kWh/m2 p.a.